New Release

The Red Bike
(2021)

Fans of Jo Jo Moyes and Jennifer Weiner will fall in love with Tara Delaney’s riveting debut novel, “The Red Bike”. Gritty, raw and steamy, this genuinely unputdownable novel will haul you through every emotion!

Abigail Gallagher needs answers. Which of her mother’s lives was real? The life she led or the one she left behind?

When wildlife photographer Abbey captures the tenderness between a protective mother gorilla and her newborn baby, she wonders if she can ever feel the same family bonds. First, she must break free from the intense anger she has carried since learning of her mother’s affair. Her mother’s self-centered behavior remains the wedge that keeps Abbey and mom apart.

After a year away, Abbey returns to Austin from Africa just before her 31st birthday. Her boyfriend Ryan cannot pry any commitment from her for their future together, despite her mother’s playful, but pointed, urging and interference.

When her mother is diagnosed with aggressive breast cancer, Abbey offers begrudging assistance to lighten her father’s care taking load. Slowly, the secret layers of her mother’s life are peeled away, until Abbey has no choice but to face a new and unsettling truth.

Can she close the gap in her relationship with her mother before her life slips away? Can Abbey open herself to Ryan enough to repair their attachment and resume their romance, to make plans for a life together?

mock-00053.png

Order Now

 
 
unnamed.jpeg

About Tara Delaney

Tara is fascinated by how early experiences impact adult behavior. Due to her extensive professional and research background in trauma/stress reactivity she is especially interested in how early trauma manifests in adult reactions, particularly relationships. She also enjoys delving into how the cultural imprint of where one grows up informs one’s world view.

 

The Red Bike (published: 2021) is Tara Delaney’s debut novel. The Red Bike, asks the question, "Is it the life our parents led or the one they left behind that impacts us more profoundly?" When wildlife photographer, Abigail Gallagher, captures the tenderness between a protective mother gorilla and her newborn baby, she wonders if she can ever feel the same family bonds. First, she must rid herself of the intense anger she has carried since learning of her mother’s affair.

 

She is a bestselling author of non-fiction books: 101 Games and Activities for Children With Autism, Asperger’s and Sensory Processing Disorders (2009); The Sensory Processing Disorder Answer Book: Practical Answers to the Top 250 Questions Parents Ask (2008) as well as Building Social Skills for Autism, Sensory Processing Disorders and Learning Disabilities: Over 105 Strategies, Activities and Sensory Tools for Children and Adolescents (2014). She has spoken approximately 300 times throughout the country (in virtually ever state) and Europe on autism, sensory processing, behavior, dyslexia and social intelligence. Tara has been an invited speaker at several state and national conferences, including the Psychotherapy Symposium Conference, Washington, D.C.

 

Tara Delaney is an occupational therapist, MS OTR/L, who has been practicing for more than twenty-five years. A graduate of University of Texas-Health Science Center with a degree in Occupational Therapy. Furthermore, she conducted primate research related to stress at the Harlow Primate Lab. Tara holds a M.S. in Therapeutic Science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her and her husband, Bill, launched and ran three therapy companies, including a non-profit clinic in Northern California.

 

 

Tara was born in New York City and has lived in many places throughout the country including: Madison, WI; Lubbock, TX; San Antonio, TX; back to Madison (where she met her future husband, Bill) followed by a move to Austin, TX where they lived for 5 years, before making her way to California. She currently lives in Northern California with her husband, Bill, and two teenage children, Maggie & Liam. (She still considers Austin home).

 

Tara enjoys listening to NPR, reading books, wine tasting with friends and increasing her world view through travel. She is an avid fitness buff (lotsa Pilates) and uses wine, BBQ and tacos to balance that fitness activity. She is also a big fan of The Guy Forsyth band!

 

 

Follow: IG: @author.taradelaney

Facebook: author.taradelaney

tara st petersburg larger.jpg

Tara Delaney

Fiction & Non-Fiction Author

Join for new releases and bonus material

Thanks for subscribing!

© 2022 by Tara Delaney